2019 Front Line Service Providers’ Awards

The CASASC team attended the 2019 Front Line Service Providers’ Awards on Nov. 6 at the Red Deer Golf and Country Club.

The 15th annual awards ceremony, hosted by the Domestic and Relationship Violence Committee (DRVIC), is a time for front line service providers to come together to recognize each other and the meaningful work being done within these communities.

CASASC Outreach Counsellor Alma Garbe was nominated for a Front Line Service Providers’ Award for forging connections and facilitating partnerships with communities based on their needs.

“For CASASC, she is the bridge to delivering services to Indigenous populations,” wrote her nominator. “Whether it is partnering with Maskwacis Health, Rocky Mountain House Victim Services or a rural hospital, Garbe works collaboratively with the community and beyond to ensure those impacted by violence are assisted.”

Ronnie Biletsky of the Red Deer Regional Hospital was nominated for the Patrick Dillon Leadership Award by CASASC. Biletsky oversees the Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) within the Red Deer Regional Hospital.

“Ronnie is a senior nurse who supervises the two programs in the hospital ER,” wrote her nominator. “She is aware of the smallest details and aims to improve the services and patient experience every time she is around. She has the ability to seamlessly be present wherever she is needed most. She has dedicated her life to support those affected by sexual violence and domestic violence in the hospital setting.

With her dedicated and resilient spirit, she has shaped the Central Alberta SART program into a recognized and admired program by other cities in the province. It is a program recognized for its’ excellence.”

CASASC also presented a special recognition to Therapist Deb Murray and Outreach Counsellor Alma Garbe for their dedicated years of service to the agency. Both Murray and Garbe are retiring at the end of the year.

CASASC would like to congratulate all of the nominees and recipients at this year’s award ceremony.